[Travel]Bordeaux, La Cité du Vin.

JUN
4 min readNov 24, 2019

--

Where is the next stop?

Hello everyone!!!
This time I traveled to Bordeaux, which is famous for wine, with my dear friend Julia. (*´∀`)~♥ (Finally back in the city again)

Me and Julia ♥

Transportation

This time we took Flixbus, we wanted to take TGV, however, it’s too expensive. If you take Flixbus from Rennes to Bordeaux, you will need to change in Nantes. It takes one and a half hours from Rennes to Nantes and four hours from Nantes to Bordeaux. (Basically, we only spent two all days in Bordeaux, it’s still amazing!)

What did we do in Bordeaux?

She is passionate :)

First, City tour.

Thanks to Julia, I didn’t know “Free walking tours” until Julia told me :) Almost in every big city, you can do free city tours, and if you want, you can leave a tip at the end of the tour.

I think it is a good way to know Bordeaux, otherwise, I would just visit every famous hot spot without knowing the stories behind it.

Bordeaux is historic and was a key trading city. During the tour, we learned and we knew this city better. She also gave us lots of advice for having a meal and dessert (´・ω・`)
I recommend doing this!!!

Second, Wine tour and wine tasting.

Besides, we also registered the wine tour and wine tasting on Free walking tours website. It cost €20/person including wine tour, three different types of wine tasting and three different cheese, it’s worth it!!!

Before I come to France, I heard this is the country with wine and cheese. I want to know more about it and the wine tour definitely helps a lot. From the variety of grapes, the procedure of making wine to different steps of tasting wine. I learned a lot and nothing is better than knowing the things you are interested in. The tour guide is professional, he told us a lot even the weather that day was like a typhoon day (`・ω・´) (I would like to do cheese tour as well haha.)

Amazing (๑´ڡ`๑)

That was the first time I didn’t feel a headache after two glasses of wine. I can tell I have a huge improvement haha. (maybe it’s cuz they are Bio wine.)

Third, Cité du Vin.

As a wine lover, how can you miss Cité du Vin?
Julia and I spent fours hours in the wine museum and it’s still not enough!!! In the wine museum, you can get lots of knowledge about wine. I’m so glad we did the wine tour before visiting the museum because you can really learn by heart haha. The ticket of Cité du Vin is €20/person, €16 with the student card.

The ticket includes one glass of wine, there is nothing better than watching this amazing view and drinking wine with your friend :)

L’Empire Bordeaux

I love this bar, it’s better than anyone in Rennes. Did you see the DJ there?

The security guy asked me if I’m Korean ( ̄▽ ̄) Last time my classmate thought I’m from Japan…

Food I ate in Bordeaux

The famous dessert, Caneles!!!! Can’t tell you how interesting it is haha.

(๑´ڡ`๑)

I also ate lots of french food during this trip. Normally if you go to a proper restaurant in France, there are always Entree, plate, and dessert. (I’m not the expert :D) Lunch is cheaper than dinner. Well, it depends.

Entree, plate, and dessert (different restaurant)

Thanks for your reading :)

Thank you so much for reading my blog!!! This is my trip in Bordeaux and I wish you like it. If you need any information about Bordeaux, don’t hesitate to leave the comment :)

It has been a while since the post last time. I’m just so busy (lazy) but that’s not an excuse. As I said in my first blog, there is always a sound deep in my mind, telling me that “ don’t live the life like everyone else”. I think I’m a bit lost somehow… However, this is life:)
You just need to keep going no matter what.

Merci, Bonne journée☺
See you soon.

--

--

JUN

Medium member since September 2019. Personal blog. Recording life stories, life improvement, fintech and whatever I wanna write. 歡迎交流!